Skip to content

The Assurance of Hope

April 28, 2013

20130428-140438.jpg

“Hope is a good thing. Maybe the best of good things. And no good thing ever dies.”
—The Shawshank Redemption

Webster’s dictionary defines hope as, a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen. A desire for a better life, the expectation that tomorrow is going to come and we can start anew. Sometimes God gives us people or things that spark a renewed sense of possibility. A sign from above that gives us that little piece of hope we’ve been longing for…longing for for so long.

Singers sing about it, writers write about it, and the common person can only, well, us regular old folks can only hope for a better day. A day that our faith, wherever our faith lies, will give us the assurance of hope. My faith gives me the assurance of hope. The assurance that we can escape the inhumanity of everyday life with a little bit of hope in the humanity of others. The love we pour out for each other; the love that triumphs over the hate; the light that always wins over the darkness; the hope that trumps the hopeless.

Andy: Here’s where it makes the most sense. (gestures over his heart) You need it so you don’t forget.
Red: Forget?
Andy: Forget that there are places in this world that aren’t made out of stone. That there’s something inside…that they can’t get to, that they can’t touch. That’s yours.
Red: What are you talking about?
Andy: Hope.
Red: Let me tell you something my friend. Hope is a dangerous thing. Hope can drive a man insane. It’s got no place here. Better get used to the idea.

Hope. It is all yours for the taking, all yours if you can simply give into it for a while. Give your self to hope; go toward the love, the light, the freedom that only hope can bring.

“I find I’m so excited I can barely sit or hold a thought in my head. I think it’s the excitement only a free man can feel, a free man at the start of a long journey whose conclusion is uncertain. I hope I can make it across the border. I hope I can see my friend and shake his hand. I hope the Pacific is as blue as it is in my dreams. I hope.”

—The Shawshank Redemption

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

