Skip to content

Grab IT and Hang On

July 16, 2012

20120715-185907.jpg

Long time no blog.

I’m sure you know how it goes, summer, family, kids activities, work, and yadda-yadda-yadda.

Although I’ve been busy with all of the summer life activities, I have been reading. Reading about God and Jesus from Christian writers like; Donald Miller, Francis Chan, Rob Bell, and Anne Lamont. Then I have also been reading about God from the Bible, which is important 🙂 I find it helpful though to read the thoughts of these other people. See what others have to say out there, to see what I agree with, dont agree with, and how to make this Christian spirituality relevant. My faith is stronger and I’ve become a little bit smarter. Knowledge is power, that’s for sure.

Relevancy in the Christian spirituality realm.

Mr. Miller is my favorite, he accomplishes this. If you ever have the chance to read what he has written, I highly recommend his books. His writing is refreshing because it isn’t this, I don’t know, this guilt inducing thing. He doesn’t make people like me feel bad for my times of spiritual sloth or my questions or my doubts or the times I have strayed from God’s grace.

It seems like he’s been there; either himself, one of his friends, or both. And he writes about it really well.

But there is one thing he understands well, he understands that feeling within, that feeling there is more. It is God’s grace and I’ve always known, somehow, in my soul that Jesus is our Redeemer. I always have, I just never really knew what to do with it or where to start. The way he puts it all onto paper, it makes me feel like my journey is ok, that we all have our own bumpy path. Not many have a perfect journey mapped out.

The stories in his writings are his personal accounts of what we all encounter; as both believers and nonbelievers. The questions we all struggle with about our relationship with God, whether it is no relationship or a strong one. Especially in the book, “Blue Like Jazz”.

Then there is “Searching for God Knows What”, in which he talks about this sense of feeling an intimate relationship with God. Focusing more on the love, like that of the bridegroom and the bride, rather than the formulas and the rules. Don’t get me wrong here, the traditions of Christianity are a part of the whole relationship; but not the only part. When Miller writes about morality and sin and God’s grace, he says that immorality would be like cheating on the bridegroom. When you have an intimate relationship with God, how could you cheat on him. He relates it to a bride walking down the isle and all the while thinking about how she could get someone from the pew into her bed after the wedding.

When I said I was looking for a reason for morality, this is what I meant. The motive is love, love of God and of my fellow man.

So, when we love God in such an intimate way, rather than in that technical theological way, how could we not love each other and live the good life? Why would we choose to “cheat” on God just to revert to our sinful nature, especially when He loves us so much?

His hand is extended, we just need to grab ahold and hang on.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    July 16, 2012 12:46 pm

    Good stuff Joy!

    • July 16, 2012 2:13 pm

      Thanks, Joann. I rambled a bit on this one 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Jungle Jim permalink
    July 16, 2012 4:08 pm

    “Yadda-Yadda-Yadda.” Don’t get to intimate with your I-phone.

    • July 16, 2012 4:51 pm

      Yea, thanks JJ.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Jungle Jim permalink
        July 16, 2012 11:35 pm

        I need to go back and read the posts you put down. Never mind the work you neglected to catalog as posts! I’m way behind here. I’ll probably breeze through it, if I know you.

      • July 16, 2012 11:37 pm

        Happy breezing, Jim.

        Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

