Skip to content

God Never Promised Perfection Here

June 6, 2012

20120605-191106.jpg

That’s life, that’s what people say.
You’re riding high in April,
Shot down in May.
But I know I’m gonna change their tune,
When I’m right back on top in June.

We all know the song, and yes, I’m going to blog about it because it’s been incessantly on repeat in my brain lately. And yes, I’m going to somehow tie it into God’s grace because that is always on my mind, He is always on my mind (oh great first Frank and now Willie).

Anyhoo, back to good old Frank.

That’s life, funny as it seems.
Some people get their kicks,
Steppin’ on dreams
But I just can’t let it get me down,
Cause this big old world keeps spinnin’ around.

And that’s the truth. This world we live in, it will continue to go on, even when our life gets hard. This world is flawed, God never promised perfection here. Jesus said, “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33). So in the here and now, we love God, we give it all to him, we love eachother, and we don’t let people step on our dreams.

I’ve been a puppet, a pauper, a pirate,
A poet, a pawn and a king.
I’ve been up and down and over and out
But I know one thing:
Each time I find myself flat on my face,
I pick myself up and get back in the race.

I’m going to add to Frank’s lyrics here;
“through God’s amazing grace” (it even rhymes). I don’t want to infringe on Frank’s song here, but that is how I have been getting myself back in the race.

It’s because of God.

That’s life, I can’t deny it,
I thought of quitting,
But my heart just won’t buy it.
Cause if I didn’t think it was worth a try,
I’d have to roll myself up in a big ball and die.

What gives you the strength to not roll up in a big ball and die?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

