Skip to content

Don’t Mind Me…I am Running

May 31, 2012

“I used to run to get to where I was going, but I never thought it would take me anywhere”(Forest Gump)

So yea, I have been running. I say that in by bestest Forest Gump voice.

Running.

20120526-084518.jpg

My body was not built to run. I’m a swimmer, a child of the water, I can swim as gracefully as a dolphin. I have boxes full of awards from childhood, high school, and college. However, unlike the grace and speed of an antelope, I run like a Dodo bird. Not that we really know how they run, but I imagine the flightless bird was not very graceful. So there you have it, I am completely void of grace when I am running.

But for some reason I am determined to run.

I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13

This is true, because not long ago my Dodo bird self finished a 5k race. I’m not disclosing the time here because it is rather embarrassing. But I finished the race and it felt amazing.

When I feel healthy enough to drag myself out to our trail for a jog, I always feel so good. Running for me is about self discipline. Making my body do something that is out of my comfort zone, it is hard for me, always has been. I like to be comfortable, pushing myself to do things that don’t come natural for me is hard.

How about you? What areas of life have you been pushing yourself out of your comfort zone?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2012 12:55 pm

    Exercise! I am in the category of HATE it! As a result, my butt is a bit bigger than it should be. I can’t swim, I can’t run, sports are a joke for me. There you have it, my dirty little secret is out 🙂

    • June 1, 2012 1:17 pm

      Hahaha! Joann, it is hard but pushing thru it is such a great feeling. You made me laugh right out loud this morning.

Leave a Reply

