Skip to content

Not of Yourself

May 29, 2012

20120524-171029.jpg

“For by grace are you saved through faith; and that is not of yourselves: it is the gift of God.” (Eph 2:8)

Preaching the doctrine of grace.

“I preach the doctrines of grace because I believe them to be true; because I see them in the Scriptures; because my experience endears them to me; and because I see the holy result of them in believers.
The doctrine which I preach to you is that of the Puritans: it is the doctrine of Calvin, the doctrine of Augustine, the doctrine of Paul, the doctrine of the Holy Spirit. The Author and Finisher of our faith himself taught the most blessed truth which well agreed with our text” – Charles Spurgeon

Is it God’s word? Is it the truth of Scripture?

This is what I find fascinating lately – religious doctrine. Fascinating because, as Christians, we all follow someone’s doctrine. What about believing what is just biblical?

It is this reason I have always been leery of Christianity.

We believe what we want to believe in scripture, follow what suits our needs. This is what I struggle with, I want what God gave us in the Bible. I want to stop compartmentalizing the scripture to fit my needs. I want what Jesus came to teach, which is how to live the good life. Teach us how to love each-other. “For we live by faith, not by sight.”(2 Cor 5:7)

So I pray to You, Lord. Let me find truth in my study of the Bible. Lead me in the right direction, steer me away from doctrine that is not Your way. I don’t want to believe anything about You that is untrue.

This is what I’m praying for right now, this being exactly what we want to believe in God’s word may not necessarily be what God told us to believe in His word. Deep down, there is this desire in all of us to interpret the Bible to fit our own world.

So I pray. To God and to Jesus, I know my path will be well lit. I know I will find truth in the Bible, in some form.
🙂

20120524-171013.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2012 1:17 pm

    As I clear out the doctrine and tradition that I was raised with, all the BS that is great fertilizer which is great for the new seeds being planted, I am constantly praying that God will show me truth. He is so faithful. As my good friend tells me. Read what you want to read, chew off the meat and spit out the bones. Thankfully with the bible, there aren’t many bones, it’s just God’s word, but we do have to make sure that our tradition and doctrine doesn’t pollute the pure water of the what the word is to us. God bless your journey Joy!!

    • May 29, 2012 2:30 pm

      Thanks, Joann. I’ve been going thru that same process but also reading and realizing that I’ve been ignoring the things that make me uncomfortable. It’s definitely an interesting journey.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Jungle Jim permalink
    May 30, 2012 12:51 am

    Doctrine is a witnessing. Once asked about his witnessing, “Who is your father?”, Jesus said, “You don’t know my father; because if you knew my father, you would know me.”

    • May 30, 2012 4:23 am

      But Jim, what about all these doctrines out there interpreting the bible. How do you know what to follow. Whose doctrine do you like best? Besides Jesus. Do you have a favorite?

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

