Skip to content

The Relentless Pursuit

May 15, 2012

Ah-ha. Catchy title, dontchya think?

Yea, so I read this quote in a book the other day, it’s called Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell. His counselor said it to him once and I can’t stop thinking about it.

Your job is the relentless pursuit of who God has made you to be.

Really? Relentless? Can I be relentless? Sounds exhausting.
🙂
What did God make me to do?

Man, have I been racking my brain since I read this book. Well, kind of – for a little bit, anyway. Ok it was just for a few hours the other day. But I thought to myself…

Am I in the right business? Am I doing the right thing writing this book and writing this blog? Am I good enough, smart enough? Am I worth it?

Sure you are, Joy.

God’s intentions for me = love.

Yup. Love. That is who God made me to be. A peace keeper, a lover, a healer, a caregiver. I am living it out. And I’m kicking out that control freak super-joy character I call “Martha”. She is exhausting.

Luke 12:25-26
“Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?”

Yea, worry takes up way too much time. I’m on a relentless pursuit.

ARE YOU?

20120514-121605.jpg

Peace.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jungle Jim permalink
    May 18, 2012 4:05 pm

    “Ah-ha…” Ruthless cross-examination; “…dontcha think?” Sucks to be you.

    • May 18, 2012 5:55 pm

      Nope, not at all Jim. Doesn’t suck at all. Thank you very much.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

