Skip to content

Illuminated

May 12, 2012

20120511-195915.jpg

Dear God,
Show me the light at the center of my brothers. Show me the light at the center of myself. Show me the light at the center of the world. Where I see guilt, show me innocence. Where I focus on mistakes, show me how to focus on efforts at good. Help me have faith in the goodness of others. Help me have faith in Your spirit within me. May darkness be cast out and may I hold the light that is in my heart. This is my prayer. May I see the light in everyone.

-prayer adapted from Marianne Williamson

I love this prayer. Jesus tells us that the most important commandment is to love one another, above all else this is the most important. It is the key to a happy life.

However… love is not weakness, it is wisdom. We can see the light and the goodness in others, in ourselves, and in the world without being naive. We must set those healthy boundaries (thanks to my counselor I have some now) because it is ok to know your limits. It is ok to say, “No, I’m not interested in helping you do those things because my plate is full.” or “You know what you just said really sucks and I don’t agree with one word, don’t talk to me about it any more.”

It’s ok to say those things, in love.

Right?

I have a new tool. I learned it from the book, Illuminata by Marianne Williamson. In your head say this to those you are surrounded by at any particular moment. In moments of joy and in moments of sucky tension,

The light of God in me salutes the light of God in you.

It helps. In those moments when road rage takes over, debates turn ugly, or when you have to listen to inappropriate bigotry. We all have the light, we are all from God. All of us. It doesn’t matter what your ethnic background is, religious affiliation, political party, sexual preference, we are all God’s children and His light shines in us all.

*Saluting your God light right now, whoever and wherever you are*

Peace.

For You will light my lamp; The Lord my God will enlighten my darkness. Psalm 18:28

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Erica permalink
    May 12, 2012 1:39 am

    LOVE it Joy! 🙂

    • May 12, 2012 1:44 am

      🙂 thanks Erica!!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Joann permalink
    May 12, 2012 1:58 am

    Amen Joy!!

  3. Jungle Jim permalink
    May 13, 2012 3:41 pm

    Share the care. I asked my boss why people I speak to walking down the beach are friendlier than people walking down the sidewalk. The beach is more isolated and potentially risky unless your a clam. She said people on the beach are in the “here & now”. That has to be where the light is.

    • May 14, 2012 2:12 am

      I’ve always found the best light is on the beach, toes in the sand. Ahhh.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Jungle Jim permalink
        May 14, 2012 8:18 pm

        unless you’re a Cheeseburger.

Leave a Reply

