Skip to content

Spirit – Body – Soul

April 26, 2012

20120426-131358.jpg

Dear God,
As I rise up, I thank you for the opportunity to be on this earth. I thank you for my mind and body, I thank you for my life. Please bless my body and use it for Your purposes. May I rise up strong today, and may my body and soul radiate Your love. May all impurities be cast out of my mind, my heart, my body. May every cell of my being be filled with Your light. May my body and mind both be illuminated for Your sake and for the sake of all the world. Amen.

– prayer from Marianne Williamson

“Now may the God of peace Himself sanctify you completely, and may your whole spirit, soul, and body be preserved blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.”(1Thessalonians 5:23) The Book of Proverbs states that “a man’s spirit will sustain him in sickness” and that “A merry heart doeth good like a medicine”.

It is true, yes? It is the spirit that will fill us with what we need to endure life. The fruits of the spirit are endless; peace and joy and love and control.

Wait a minute. Control? From the Holy Spirit?

Yup.

Self control, use it while your negative emotions subside and then make decisions. I look back on times in my life and the illnesses I have experienced are usually connected to my negativity. My state of mind, maybe it has been my crappy attitude making me sick. Because I notice that when I’m happy I’m healthy. Do you ever notice this?

When I’m using that self control found within my spirit, it is easier to manage my reaction to life. I am well. I am starting to become healthier since I’ve found this. My body and my soul soak up happiness, making me feel complete. This happiness, it comes from my spirit, which is directly linked to Gods Spirit. When I am communing with God on some level, life becomes better. The crap is easier to deal with and the beauty is, well, the beauty is more beauteous!

It’s that mind – body – soul connection that everyone talks about. Just replace the mind with the spirit, yours and God’s. It is no joke.

You can’t just pray for peace. You have to be proactive in your quest. Seek it, pursue it (Peter 3:10-11). Use your spirit from God to heal your body and your soul. Find it in the Word.

I have been and it’s a trip, that’s for sure. So I share, and I blog it out so I can understand it all just a little better.

Peace.

20120426-131412.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jungle Jim permalink
    April 27, 2012 2:05 pm

    If the theory is to “cast out” a crappy attitude, then the practice is to breathe in suffering & breathe out joy. You don’t even control putting one foot before the other when you walk, but you can expect god to keep your path level. Self-control is especially important when you need to walk up the mountian & back down agian with the Law for the People. 🙂

  2. May 8, 2012 12:55 pm

    How often do I want peace, love, joy, but not patience, kindness to me but not kindness from me, and no self control. I don’t get to pick. It is all one fruit.

Leave a Reply

