Skip to content

Beach ball Blossoms

April 19, 2012

John 3:6-8
Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit. You should not be surprised at my saying, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.”

20120418-162801.jpg

So, I went to a Jimmy concert.

I should tell you now that I am not the kind of gal you would ever find at a show like this. Parrot heads, land sharks, gypsy something or anothers, and then there was me. I am a musical mixture of punk and hippy girl 90’s alternative rocker chick. I was sure I would have a fine time – it was just going to be me poking fun at all these other folks (in my head of course).

This is not what happened.

I listened to jokes about beach ball trees, shark feeding frenzies, and Lazy days in Key West where it is always five o’clock somewhere. As in “beer thirty” me, ASAP!

Yes, you may have guessed it by now- I was at a Jimmy Buffett concert. Although I appreciate Jimmy for what he is, I enjoyed People watching more than the show itself. These three guys became my focus.

20120418-184802.jpg

Weird, I know. I couldn’t see their faces but the body language was fantastic. They were filled with the spirit, but it was the spirit of booze and Jimmy and an obvious friendship. I found it hilariously endearing.

20120419-164300.jpg

They embraced each other, they high fived, cheers were all around, and you could tell that with each song blaring from the speakers; a memory was sparked. Their friendship was a Jimmy Buffett song.

20120419-170409.jpg

Thanks to you, the three musketeers, at that Jimmy Buffett concert. I thoroughly enjoyed your loving display of friendship, it was refreshing. And for some reason, I was reminded of myself being filled with the Holy Spirit lately. Being born again has been as exciting for me as this Buffett concert was for those guys up there.

It’s all about perspective, mine is kind of strange lately.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jungle Jim permalink
    April 19, 2012 11:04 pm

    “You should not be surprised…” Unless it’s a birthday party. My 31yr. old son, Jimmy, is a cheeseburger.

Leave a Reply

