Skip to content

To Rewrite or not to Rewrite

March 30, 2012

20120329-112329.jpg

So, I have this memoir (check out my tab up there: BOOK ONE). But I think I need to change the direction of the whole thing from being a caregiver to finding my faith. Obviously I’m having some life revelations, you know this if you read my posts 🙂

I guess my question is this:
Do I rewrite or do I edit in? I’ve been editing in bits and pieces that seem to be ruining the flow. I’m stuck on this. Has anyone ever completely rewritten a book?

I’m leaning toward rewriting and it feels overwhelming.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    March 30, 2012 10:14 pm

    In my humble opinion what you have written is part of that journey and there has to be a transition of thought along the way to tell what is happening now. Hope that helps.

    • March 30, 2012 10:56 pm

      Yes it does, thanks Joann!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. March 30, 2012 10:18 pm

    If your heart isn’t in rewriting, it won’t be an easy task.

    • March 30, 2012 10:58 pm

      Yes it would be daunting.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. March 30, 2012 10:58 pm

    I did this recently with an old novel of mine, and eventually ended up trunking it (I was liking the way the rewrites sounded but my plotting skills are head and shoulders above what they were when I conceived the book). Since you’re writing a memoir, you have an advantage in the fact that you don’t have to make up plot points. I think if you rewrite you’ll find that you can make the pieces and themes fit together the way you want.

    Now that you know what you want the book to be you should totally go for it.

    Good luck!

  4. March 31, 2012 12:08 am

    I don’t know if this is helpful. But when I’ve tried to completely edit / rewrite a somewhat finished piece, I edit, but I do it chapter by chapter or page by page and then post the new pages in a new document. It’s kind of the best of both worlds.

  5. Jungle Jim permalink
    March 31, 2012 2:25 pm

    God wrote a book. It was an autobbiography. It’s pretty heavy reading though. You said, if I remember correctly, that you gained as a writer from the style of the Psalm writers; right? Rock & roll, out of control!

Leave a Reply

