Skip to content

Fruits of the Spirit

March 29, 2012

20120328-211207.jpg

The fruits of the Spirit, in my mind, are joy, peace, and love. Little goodies given to us from the Lord above. How do I get to this fruity bliss?

Prayer and meditation.

Living in this “git-r-done” society, we don’t stop to enjoy the fruits. We don’t slow down to enjoy the boredom. When is the last time you had nothing to do and enjoyed it? Are you ever able to stop and meditate on life? Expressing gratitude for the beauty and even for the darkness?

Yea. Me neither, not nearly as often as I need to. I often find myself trying to control the outcomes of my life; not only my own but my loved ones, as well. I have to stop, give up control, and trust.

Stop Joy!

Give it up, whatever it may be, to God. I have learned that my strength is nothing, even at my best, when I don’t have God’s grace in my life. When the Grace is absent, that is usually when the anxiety starts to climb into every fiber of my being. I start to become the control freak that I loathe.

Control freak Joy is exhausting, when I let Grace slip from my universe.

Like most things in life, this trust in God takes practice. After a while, the peace and love and joy, the fruits of the spirit, become etched in my heart and my soul. It is starting to become second nature for me to stop and meditate throughout my day, to ask for help from God, through the spirit. Rather than making things fit into my world, I am now trying to fit into God’s world. Life is better this way.

That Grace is all I need to bring the light into the darkness.

20120328-211407.jpg

A single one in the midst of the chaos, the fruit of the spirit. Trust that makes the control loosen, and then the anxiety falls out the tips of my fingers.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2012 1:40 pm

    Dear Joy,

    Beautiful thoughts beautifully expressed.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • March 29, 2012 1:42 pm

      Thank you sweet Doug 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. March 29, 2012 2:25 pm

    Excellent. As a writer, I sometimes appreciate the benefits of the ‘control freak’ mentality. However, it is the ‘freak’ portion of that aspect of my character I loathe, as you say. The ‘freak’ doesn’t like to trust that God, as my muse, knows what to do with the story and the characters therein. It is only after I begin reading/revising and I see the intricacies of the story and the characters… that I sit back and say, Hey, God is an excellent storyteller. 🙂 It motivates me to sit back and listen, to let go and let God.

    • March 29, 2012 2:41 pm

      Ha! I know, Nona that is how I’ve been with writing. Thanks to God’s spirit, it all works out for the best 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      • March 29, 2012 2:58 pm

        God is good ALL THE TIME!

  3. March 30, 2012 12:43 am

    Just beautiful…no day of mine would be complete without time to meditate, and this post perfectly captures that spirit.

Leave a Reply

