Skip to content

Faith in Action

March 25, 2012

20120325-162404.jpg

“You always look good, but you are beautiful when you put your faith in action.”

Our pastor said this in his email newsletter the other day. He is always saying little phrases that grab my attention. On this particular day, it was “faith in action”. His (Pastor Mike’s) words can usually help me put my life into perspective. Not just his words, but also the wisdom I read in the Bible that Pastor Mike leads me toward and the guidance I find within. I need perspective from God every day, He helps me bring my emotions and my reactions outside of myself. It’s a matter of trying to stop living in my head, to give up control in situations that are not in my control, to trust that my faith in action will provide me with the grace from God to put life into perspective.

20120325-162427.jpg

So, my children and I made this “Garden of Grace” today to honor Jesus for Easter. To put it all into perspective. For my family, it is a living visual of what Jesus has done for all of humanity. The garden represents not only the beginning; humanity’s fall from grace in Eden, but also the garden where Jesus fell giving us the opportunity to get that grace back. Finally, it represents where we will end up, in the garden of heaven. The stone path symbolizes how we get to God’s grace, ending at the tomb of Jesus (a small pot laying under the cross).

20120325-170838.jpg

John 11:25-26 Jesus said to her, β€œI am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and everyone who lives and believes in me shall never die. Do you believe this?”

Yes. I. Do.

I found this idea on Ann Voskamp’s website, A Holy Experience.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 11:52 pm

    This is beautiful!

  2. March 26, 2012 1:10 pm

    What a lovely idea!

    • March 26, 2012 4:48 pm

      Yea, it turned out nice! Thanks for reading, H.M.H!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. uponmyheart permalink
    March 28, 2012 8:11 pm

    It is so beautiful! πŸ™‚ I love love this idea!!

    • March 28, 2012 8:26 pm

      Thank you, soul writer! It turned out great πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

