Skip to content

An Invisible Thread – a book review

March 22, 2012

20120322-181525.jpg

I never really do this, review a book, that is, but I am compelled to let people know about this one. This book is inspirational, it restores faith in humanity, and reveals to us all that destiny comes in all forms.

An Invisible Thread (just click there to see the website), is something from an old Chinese proverb. Something the author, Laura Schroff felt one afternoon, drawing her back to a little boy of just eleven years old, a panhandler named Maurice. The proverb tells us that no matter what; time, place, or circumstance, that there are certain people we are destine to meet. We are connected to them by an invisible thread.

To some, a friendship between a middle aged white woman and a young black boy may have seemed highly unnatural. But for me, this connection, this thread that God gave these two people from similar yet vastly different backgrounds, is perfectly natural. I was drawn to their story, by that same thread, as I found myself unexpectedly sitting with my mom at the beauty shop the other day, sifting through the People magazine that I never read. Then I landed on the review of this book, my mom and I went to the book store after her hair was done, to grab the last copy!

I am so incredibly thankful for the simple, yet profound message this book provides. The simple act of kindness from one human being to the next. And then grateful for the profound complexity of the invisible thread of destiny.

Go read this book, maybe it is the thread you need to restore your faith in humanity. That’s all I have to say about that. “11) For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12)Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13) You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”
~ Jeremiah 29 : 11 – 13 NIV

Destiny. Fate. Do you choose to follow your thread or keep walking right past?

20120322-181544.jpg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jungle Jim permalink
    March 23, 2012 1:46 am

    :).

    • March 23, 2012 1:51 am

      😉

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Jungle Jim permalink
        March 23, 2012 11:44 am

        I-phone & Facebook are not parts of my arsenal. If a thread promotes choice, I say the more, the merrier! Some social networks control choice, like some churches. Cast the I-Ching.

Leave a Reply

