Skip to content

Lost in a dream

March 20, 2012

20120317-122014.jpg

Three mornings per week I visit a client of mine. She is the sweetest 90 year old woman, ever, intent on staying in her home of practically 65 years. She uses a walker all of the time, so going to the basement or upstairs is out of the question. Her son visits every night for dinner, she has a cleaning lady twice a week, and then she has me three mornings a week.

Every morning this woman wakes from slumber exhausted because of her dreams. Remember, now, she cannot walk well, therefore getting practically zero exercise. So, do you know why she wakes up so worn out?

Because she is running(in my best Forest Gump voice).

In her dreams, she is getting lost in department and grocery stores, kind of like a Walmart or a Target is how she explained it to me. Not only lost but also trapped, because it is during the time employees are restocking shelves. A short little petite woman, she cannot see over the crates of food in her dream, so she is running around looking for an exit, a way back home.

20120317-121947.jpg

My little lady is baffled by this, why does she have these vivid dreams of walking and getting lost and why are they so exhausting? “For the son of man came to seek and to save that which was lost” (Luke 19:10)

She is a woman of strong faith, perhaps her body, mind, and soul are preparing her to be found. Maybe subconsciously, she is ready and looking for the path to return home to our Heavenly Father. I pray for her to find her way peacefully and to not become this exhausted. She is truly a special person, heaven will be open for her and her loved ones will be waiting to welcome her home.

“Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.”

20120320-081308.jpg
Disclaimer: I, by no means, am a dream interpreter. I am simply an observer of life. I like to hypothesize about what dreams could mean, so perhaps I could be a dream hypothesizer? 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2012 3:06 pm

    Hi Joy, I love hypothesizing about dreams, too. What a beautiful interpretation of this one. Instead of something that is scary and frightening, it just represents a part of her that is going to be found oh so soon. Thanks for sharing!

    • March 21, 2012 3:49 pm

      Thank you, a beloved one! Thanks for reading today!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

