Skip to content

You Can Checkout Any Time You’d Like

March 16, 2012

20120316-073342.jpg

But you can never leave.

That’s how depression can feel. Like you are stuck in that song, “Hotel California” by the Eagles (I know the song is not about depression, just making reference).

We are all just prisoners here, of our own device.

I question, though, is it of our own device? Is depression a choice? No, I personally don’t think so. The choice in depression is how we choose to deal with it, how we choose to react to it. Do we let depression rule our universe or do we rule depression? I choose to not be depressed, every time. “Why are you so downcast, oh my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God. (Psalms 43:5)

I checkout of the hotel, even though I check back in from time to time.

Last thing I remember, I was
Running for the door
I had to find the passage back
To the place I was before
Relax, said the night man,
We are programmed to receive.

You know I’m going to say it, we are programmed to receive. “For God so loved the world that He gave His One and Only Son that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16). From the beginning of time, we have been programmed to receive God’s love because he loves us, more than anything. I think John 3:16 is one of the most important quotes of the bible (along with many others who feel the same way, obviously, it is one of the most popular verses), it is a promise to all of humanity that our God is a loving and caring God.

Up ahead in the distance, I saw a shimmering light

And you know who that is, replacing the darkness with the light. Lighting the way in the valley of the shadows, with His staff and His rod. Our Shepard. Our Driver on the highway of life. The Prodigal Parent, there to pick us up when we checkout of the Hotel California.

When we open our hearts to this kind of love, checkout is always possible, as we leave the shadows behind.

20120316-073618.jpg

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jungle Jim permalink
    March 17, 2012 3:28 pm

    Concentrate on the strengths instead of the weakness. Sit on your hands untill it goes away. Contemplate the Balzac on your foot.

    • March 17, 2012 5:12 pm

      πŸ™‚ thanks Jim. I love my foot Balzac. It is an Honor(e) to have it there. Never was very good at sitting on my hands, though. Ha!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Jungle Jim permalink
        April 1, 2012 9:34 pm

        I’m not good at being depressed, but my sister has plenty of experience. She is a 58 yr. old ballerina @ (blog) Mad In Vermont.

Leave a Reply

