Skip to content

My Seed

February 11, 2012

Faith is like a seed; plant it in your heart. God gives the harvest at the appointed time.

This is from the book of Mark 4:26, kind of condensed from it’s original version, it is “The Parable of the Growing Seed”.

20120207-125909.jpg

I guess I’m going to give a declaration of sorts, a statement of my faith. I want to say it out loud, I want to be proud of who I am and what faith represents to me.

Faith is something people have stopped talking about, and if you do you are labeled as some religious freak, a hypocrite, and closed minded at best. I’m not ok with that because I don’t think that represents the majority of people of faith. Just as I’m not ok with folks out there, who claim to walk with faith – any faith, judging the beliefs of different religions. Religious traditions may differ but the moral teachings are fairly universal. It’s about love. I think that’s what is wrong today. No one asks about each other’s beliefs anymore; we are all too fearful, bigoted, and hard headed.

Here it goes, my beliefs: I believe in Christianity. I believe in one God even though I believe in God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. This is called Godhead, Holy Trinity, three in one but for me, this is still one God. I believe in the teachings of the prophet Jesus Christ while he was here on Earth, and that they (the teachings) can transcend time and become tools to live by today. I believe that Jesus is God the Son – in the flesh – He died on the cross for the human race; past, present, and future. His death signifies that, as mere humans, we are forgiven. I believe that God is a loving, patient, kind, and forgiving Father. I believe that there will be a second coming of Christ but will not hold my breath for it to occur in my lifetime šŸ™‚ I believe that God loves all of us, as His creation, no matter what religion we follow or what rituals we follow, so long as we are not hurting each other in the process. At the end of the day, we are all worshipping and giving thanks to God, even if our interpretations of God differ.

It is still God, it is still faith, and we all have an obligation to be accepting of one another (except for the violent a-holes, but they are everywhere).

Acceptance is good, it doesn’t make us any less faithful, only more understanding.

20120207-132448.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 3:41 am

    Amen. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

