Skip to content

Shaking

February 10, 2012

20120209-211401.jpg

I was shaking like a dog shittin’ tacks.

(I can’t believe I just said that, it is a saying of my husbands).

Really though, I’ve never really understood why he said that, until now. I had my first writers group tonight and I very nervously read the beginning of my memoir. My armpits are still wet and I have those stupid butterflies swarming my stomach, but I did it! Shakin like a dog shittin tacks, but I still did it. I read my heart n soul to a room of strangers. I got good feedback. Now I’m off to nurture my headache because I’m spent from being so nervous.

20120209-211319.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 9:05 am

    Good job. It gets better and so will your writing. And you’ll need the presence of mind that practice gives you for your elevator pitches and PR talks so its all OJT. Easy breezy.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • February 10, 2012 12:59 pm

      Thanks Doug. It was nerve wracking but also liberating. I am glad I went, it will become part of my routine now. I’m going back. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. February 10, 2012 10:21 am

    Congrats! We can feel so naked when we read our own writing, especially when the writing is about ourselves. Bravo 🙂 You should be proud of yourself.

    • February 10, 2012 1:00 pm

      Thanks HP. I am, it was, and I’m goon back. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

