Skip to content

Steeping Myself

February 7, 2012

I figure that tea with my name on the tag, must equal a cool blog post title.

20120130-202158.jpg

I have been steeping my heart in God.

My brain has been marinating there, as well. I feel like I must have felt as a kid, in the sense that I am wanting to learn and gain knowledge about faith, feeling like a sponge. Thirsty for it. I see it in my children’s eyes, every moment of their short existence, watching as they climb this nearly vertical learning curve, encouraging them as they ascend.

At one point in the game, however, my learning curve had fizzled out for a while; wilted like a flower in a drought. The decay happened during those years I was caring for my Grandpa, who had Alzheimer’s Disease, while simultaneously raising my children. I had put my self last, I blogged about that once here. I’m not doing that anymore though, I’m taking time to nurture myself and my faith. My learning curve is slowly getting back to it’s proper spot, uh, wherever that is…

And you know what? We are all doing just fine!

My faith. I am Christian by choice, and can finally declare this with certainty. You see, I didn’t grow up reading the Bible or being aware of the teachings of the Bible or really caring to open one up. As a child and young adult, I was blissfully agnostic. Well, agnostic in faith, but the bliss thing kinda came and went with the breeze. I believed in something though, I just didn’t quite know what it was. So I started slowly searching.

In college I had made several attempts to read the Holy Bible, starting with the Old Testament. I was lost in there, not really knowing what was going on, so it never took me very long to give up on the journey. I had good intentions, I even prayed to God and accepted Jesus as my savior. Some of the things I learned back then stuck, Moses, Pharaoh, Ten Commandments, burning bushes, seas parting, and all that pretty well known stuff.

This time my journey, down the path of my faith, is different.

20120204-140923.jpg
It actually feels different this time because my eyes are opening as I am more at home in the Bible that I once found so confusing, redundant, and boring.

I am solid enough in my faith, at this point, that I am making some pretty major connections with the other two religions in the Abrahamic Family. Connections that give me understanding and acceptance for other religious cultures, while strengthening my own. Even though my research may make me question the very fabric of my faith, it is ultimately making me better, more respectful and accepting of things I never fully understood.

I hope to eventually write about this but don’t quite feel comfortable yet. This being the connections between the three big monotheistic religions of Islam, Judaism, and Christianity. It’s been insane, so insane with the reading that my eyeball did this —

20120205-152251.jpg
See the red spot? It was bigger a few days ago but it’s healing now. Plus I know it’s probably not from the reading 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    February 7, 2012 3:52 pm

    It’s so funny that you published this today. The reason being that I am writing a piece right now about how I too, am coming to peace with Islam. I’ve been at peace with Judaism for a long time, but I am finally coming to a place where I understand Islam more. Anyway, thanks so much for sharing!

    • February 7, 2012 5:48 pm

      Joann, Knowledge IS power and I really believe that! Once you accept and trust God, become secure in your faith, it is easier to accept other religions. How egocentric of people to be so judgmental of others beliefs?!?! I can’t wait to hear about your journey!! Thanks for commenting today!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. February 8, 2012 2:34 pm

    Love the shot of your tea bag!! And yes most definitely, each to his own.. c

    • February 8, 2012 2:46 pm

      Thanks c! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. February 11, 2012 3:19 am

    Joy, you may want to add to your appetite for scripture with a Bible study group. BSF is hands down the best study I’ve ever done to actually read and know the Bible in context for myself. It’s strict, but it’s really good. I’ve heard CBS is another good one. I haven’t done it, but I have several friends who have and recommend it. Not as strict as BSF, but still in-depth, Biblically-sound study… Let me know if I can help.

    • February 11, 2012 4:05 am

      Thank you, Aimee!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. jungle jim permalink
    February 12, 2012 11:27 pm

    I don’t think Daniel volunteered for the lion’s den. I think he had to be THROWN into it. Volunteering is the “acceptance” part.

    • February 12, 2012 11:39 pm

      Strange you should say that to me just now, JJ. I need to figure out ways to do this in our community, other than at the kids school. I was just looking it up on our church website.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

