Skip to content

It’s Just a Shadow

January 15, 2012

Psalm 23
“The Lord is my Shepard; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the path of righteousness for His name’s sake.”

20120114-104939.jpg

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they will comfort me.” (Psalm 23: 1-4)

20120114-112151.jpg

“Though I walk through the valley, it’s only a shadow, it’s only a shadow!”
Misty Edwards

It’s only a shadow because I know to whom my soul belongs. My soul He keeps and I hold His light within. Do you know where you come from or where you are going? I do and it gives me strength in the shadows. It’s only a shadow, right? My soul He keeps and He is my Shepard, my light.

So, while I may walk through the valley of the shadows, like a lamb that seems to be vulnerable to the predators within, I know that protection is near. The shadows, they may induce fear but I know in my heart that the lamb is worthy and that I am worthy of His love. Worthy is the lamb. I know that the Lord is my Shepard, He provides the light in the darkness – it’s only a shadow!

20120114-114558.jpg

This blog post was greatly inspired by a Misty Edwards song called It’s Only a Shadow. Actually, I wrote it yesterday morning as I was listening to my “God music” and doing some bible study. So, Misty Edwards’ lyrics are found all over this post. Thank you, Misty.
🙂

Leave a Reply

