Skip to content

One Year Ago

December 26, 2011

“I’m ready to go.”, my Grandpa rattled out to us in a voice that only death can bring. His throat was trashed from the Alzheimer’s Disease, dysphagia is what they call it. He could hardly breathe. Eating had become impossible in the few days prior to this day, December 26th, 2010.

We began to administer the morphine, and we also gave him a Valium to ease his nerves. He had fallen out of bed during the night and I had to call the paramedics to help get him back in, which was a fiasco.

My sweet Grandpa passed on to the heavenly gates to be with Our Father this day one year ago, 945 central time. Just upstairs in our home. My role as a caregiver ended on this day, Alzheimer’s had exited my universe – exited stage right.

20111226-075752.jpg
I find myself now, one year later and I am better. Recovered from the death but I am better because I had Alzheimer’s in my universe. It was in the aftermath of those five and a half years of Alzheimer’s in my life that shaped who I am now. I no longer grieve his death but i celebrate his life! That feels so great! This is for you, Grampy. Mangetak for the memories!

20111226-081100.jpg

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2011 2:45 pm

    My condolences on the loss of your grandfather in such a horrible way. No one touched by Alzheimer’s will ever be the same. The only way to move on from such tragedy is to learn and grow from the experience. You have done so and now can use what you have learned to make your life better. I wish you much peace and happiness.

    • December 26, 2011 3:05 pm

      Thank you, Kathleen. I have become better thru it all and now am celebrating his life rather than mourning his death and that is liberating!! Thank you for your comment!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Jungle jim permalink
    December 26, 2011 2:54 pm

    ‘The Universe, and beyond!” Toy Story. I clicked on your church, but they don’t have the “gift” sermon up yet. I spent a year working, 40 hours a week together, with my friend (my boss) who was grieving her partner’s sudden untimely death as a recovery process. It’s interesting because she was trained in 24/7 hospice care. We had a business mowing lawns. She was good at that, but she knew nothing about being an employer. I was glad to have the experience with her. We were both parents of teenagers.

    • December 26, 2011 3:23 pm

      Very cool, Jim. Thank you for sharing that and if you get a chance check out that sermon because pastor mike rocks the house! 😉 “to the universe and beyond!” (me doing my best buzz impersonation)

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Jungle jim permalink
    December 26, 2011 2:57 pm

    Winston Churchill said Mahatma Gahndi was a naked begger. Satyagraha.

    • December 26, 2011 3:05 pm

      Bah! 😉

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Jungle Jim permalink
        December 29, 2011 12:04 am

        I know it’s not funny, but I can’t help it, lol.

  4. Nebraskawheatie permalink
    December 26, 2011 3:04 pm

    Thiings happen for a reason. It amazes me to watch how God works in our lives – every day! To sit back and see how He’s worked things to our good is the very best! It’s also good to know you’ll see your Grandpa again one day soon! Take care and God bless.

    • December 26, 2011 3:15 pm

      Amen, Nebraska! Well said and thank you!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. December 26, 2011 7:25 pm

    What a wonderful post. So tender and yet so hopeful! Sounds like he was a special man. Thanks for the insight and brief look at your wonderful relationship. Twas’ a pleasure to read.

    • December 26, 2011 7:34 pm

      Thank you, Rodney! You hit the nail on the head… It was very special, indeed!!

  6. January 2, 2012 3:02 am

    Joy, thanks for sharing your thoughts on the anniversary of your loss. Telling our stories and sharing our feelings gives others the permission and the courage to do the same – and it is such a healing experience to share. Happy New Year.
    Blessings,
    Linda

    • January 2, 2012 4:02 am

      Exactly, Linda! Thank you for this!!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

