Skip to content

Sands of – um – Time?

November 21, 2011

20111020-131347.jpg

Like sands flowing from your fingertips, so are the posts in my blog.

Bah. Yea.

Time. It goes by so fast when you are living life and just going about with your daily living. Time. Its not slowing down or waiting for any of us, so we need to use it wisely. I mean wisely in the amount of joy we can find in some of our precious moments.

But can we slow down time?

Remember I told you about that book, if not – you can find it here, the book is Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts. Well, I told you that I would probably blog about her again and here it is, another part that I love.

The real problem of life is never a lack of time. The real problem – in my life – is lack of thanksgiving.

Previously Ann spoke of being grateful for life, everything in life – it’s the premise of her book. Now she talks of this thankfulness being able to create more time. She repeats the word eucharisteo, giving thanks, throughout her book. Eucharisteo always precedes the miracle and “Thanksgiving creates abundance” —

20111117-223817.jpg
Being thankful, full of thanks, weighs down our moments and slows time. Slow down, give thanks – being full of thanks yields being full of time.

Thanks be to God. Period.

Here is Ann Voskamp’s blog, it is beautiful. Period. Her writing style is poetic and full of grace, so are her photographs. It is definitely worth a visit.

20111119-161145.jpg

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2011 4:55 pm

    This is why i love to have my first coffee watching the sunrise, it is a time for thankfulness! c

    • November 23, 2011 7:50 pm

      Oh agreed, Cecil! It is a wonderful time to be thankful!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Jungle Jim permalink
    November 24, 2011 12:49 am

    I am grateful for haveing gotten peer support from AA losers for the last 20 years. It sounds like Ann Voskamp can appreciate more time like some of the wonderful ladies at AA meetings. The reason I think they are so special is because I can go out for a loaf of bread and a quart of milk, and come back in 6 months, and they will still let me in. 🙂

    • November 24, 2011 1:45 pm

      Nice! Acceptace is a great thing to be greatful fo 😉

      • Jungle Jim permalink
        November 25, 2011 5:17 pm

        Acceptance is my G spot.

      • November 25, 2011 5:34 pm

        Me too, Jim! 🙂

        Sent from my iPhone

  3. November 26, 2011 7:57 pm

    Nice post. Being thankful in the hard things of life is… well, hard.

    • November 26, 2011 8:20 pm

      😉 yes it is, Paul. Thank you so much for visiting. I really like your blog and look forward to reading more.

  4. December 1, 2011 3:23 pm

    Very well said. Thanks for the link to Ann’s blog too. Another friend of mine follows her. I may do so myself 🙂

    • December 1, 2011 3:40 pm

      She is awesome! Get her book too, it is a must read…seriously! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

