Skip to content

Thank-U-For

November 16, 2011

20111115-191626.jpg

This blog button is courtesy of Everyday Epistle.

Mom, I am thank-you-for our house because some people don’t have one.

This is how my daughter says it when she’s thankful. I’ve corrected her before but she continues to say thank-you-for.

Mom, I am thank-you-for Jesus.

And this just melts my heart. I kind of mourn the day she’s going to stop doing that, messing up words like this, it is so sweet.

So, this year, instead of saying thankful… I am thank-you-for.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Jungle Jim permalink
    November 17, 2011 1:07 pm

    It was a pleasure for me as a child, to be reminded that, in my world, the consistently -inconsistent was noteable. 4 & 5 year olds sometimes know what day of the week it is a year before they know what time of day it is. Cool, huh?

    • November 17, 2011 1:21 pm

      Yes it is and it always amazes me when my kids do that, their innocent perception of the world is so right on. Spot on. All the bs from the adult world ruins the innocence. šŸ™‚ thanks Jim!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Jungle Jim permalink
        November 17, 2011 2:09 pm

        That’s why Elly- Mae invariably finished her muses by throwing a guy into her See-ment pond on The Beverly Hillbillys.

      • November 17, 2011 2:47 pm

        Awww, my friend has a dog named Ella-Mae. šŸ™‚

        Sent from my iPhone

  2. Jungle Jim permalink
    November 17, 2011 4:02 pm

    Bowsy-Wowsy! šŸ™‚

  3. Joann permalink
    November 17, 2011 5:02 pm

    I can’t read your blog fast enough, so glad that you liked my post because now I have a new sister in Christ to relate to. Both of my parents have Alzheimer’s so your posts about your Grandpa really hit me. But this one…my girls are 15 and 11 and I’m missing hearing those little phrase mistakes. This one is precious and now you have it recorded for all time! Blessings on your writing and sharing!

    • November 17, 2011 5:15 pm

      Fantastic, Joann! I am so glad we found eachother šŸ™‚

  4. November 18, 2011 3:52 am

    That is just so sweet! c

    • November 18, 2011 3:53 am

      I know, C! She cracks me up šŸ˜‰

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Anita S permalink
    November 25, 2011 3:04 pm

    Children’s words can be so precious. This will be a treasured memory when she is older!

    • November 25, 2011 3:10 pm

      Anita, that is so true! I love those little sayings of hers!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. November 27, 2011 10:04 pm

    Joy, I think children are closer to God and sometimes understand mysteries that we don’t. When I was visiting with my grandkids recently, my daughter-in-law asked my 2-year-old granddaughter what God looked like. Her answer: “She has a very big face!” Looking into her big, innocent blue eyes, I wondered what the world would be like if we all had such an open, childlike simplicity.
    Blessings,
    Linda

    • November 27, 2011 11:05 pm

      Absolutely, Linda! Thank you for this comment…well said!

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks

  1. Feeding Joy « My Universe is Still Coming Together

Leave a Reply

