Skip to content

Manifesting The Meaning

November 15, 2011

20111114-195359.jpg

“To name anything – something is to manifest it’s meaning: to know it comes from God”
Ann Voskamp from One Thousand Gifts

Check out her blog here.

Mrs. Voskamp is listing 1000 things that she is thankful for in her life. Eucharisteo – being grateful to Christ. Naming them has manifested the meaning for this woman. Manifesting the meaning of those things she is grateful for in God’s name. Eucharisteo. Live life in the now and give thanks to God for giving us the ability to manifest the meaning of everything – anything.

Giving thanks in life, actually naming it all – everything from the mundane, to the monumental. It sounds like a daunting task to me, but Ann says, “Thanks is what multiplies the joy. It makes life large.”. Then says in another area of the book that, “Neglecting thanks makes the pain run deeper.”.

I am only half way through the book right now and its impact has been profound. So much so that I need to blog about it now. Right now. I may continue with another blog as her words inspire me. To be honest, I wasn’t even going to read it, but I kept getting that little “God tap” and finally I said, “Fine, I’ll read it.”. Now, I’ve got my nose in this book every chance I get.

This is my photo of our first snowfall. I am thankful for its beauty.

20111114-195539.jpg

Here is an introduction to Ann on her blog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 11:41 am

    Thank you for sharing about this book. I haven’t read it, but what you wrote about is something that God is teaching me through my son. We pray with him a lot, and he likes to pray with us. He started to mimic our prayers, especially the prayers of thanks. He has started to pray his own list of thank yous. He thanks Jesus for EVERYTHING! Grandmas, grampas, his soon to be born brother, his dog, his toys (by name), Barney, Bob the Builder, zebras, giraffes…on and on. And isn’t that the way we should be. We are so blessed. We need to thank the Giver of all good things!

    • November 15, 2011 12:00 pm

      Yes! That is wonderful, my daughter loves to give thanks to God, too! Wonderful, full of wonder aren’t they? Why, as adults, do we loose this?

Trackbacks

  1. Sands of – um – Time? « My Universe is Still Coming Together

Leave a Reply

