Skip to content

Filling the Void

November 13, 2011

20111112-183659.jpg

I’ve done this in my life over and over. Time and time again I’ve tried to fill the void; stuff the empty space with things that don’t matter. You choose your vice and it all numbs the hole: addictions; food (my personal favorite), smart phones, Facebook, computers, shopping, trashy vampire romance novels (Ok, so I had a time in my life that those were my escape). The list could go on and on and on, you know this. We, the human race, have become so distracted that we forget the number one reason the void is even there in the first place.

God.

More specifically, it is a void because of the lack of God. Therein lies the problemo.

Fill the void with your faith, instead. Take time to fill that empty space with love and compassion. I know I have been amazed at how full-filled my empty has become, since I have come back to God. Not that it was ever a conscious decision to stray, life just became too busy. The void in my life, which I call my abyss and sometimes even my trenches, became so vast. This prayer is from Marianne Williamson’s book, Illuminata. It is a Return to prayer. This is one of her prayers that I frequent:

Dear God,
I resist meditation, I resist prayer, I resist my spiritual practice at times, for I am not comfortable with the empty spaces. I know, dear God, that I am out of balance with my spiritual nature. I need to be healed. Please heal me. Bring me to the silence within myself, and give me comfort there. Show me the fierce and quiet center of Your love, which is within me. Thank You very much. Amen.

This book has a lot of prayer examples for you to get started on your relationship with God. My mom gave it to me earlier this year and I kind of dismissed it as unnecessary, until just recently. Truth be told, I thought that just going to church on Sunday would be sufficient. What did I need to take time to meditate or pray to God for? I didn’t have the time. I never even thought about the huge disservice I was doing to myself. My abyss kept growing larger over time.

I had plenty of time, however, to read trashy romance novels about machismo vampires or sexy kilt wearing Scottish men. Ahem. I also had plenty of time to blog, Facebook, write, and go out to eat some delicious Pho. Why not make time to pray? God desires a relationship with every one of us.

20111112-184738.jpg
If you have no time to buy a prayer book, open your bible. He gave us an entire chapter of prayer: Psalms. “The salvation of the righteous comes from the Lord; he is their stronghold in time of trouble.” (37). “Be still”, He tells us here in Psalms, “and know that I am God”. In Psalms 55 we are called upon to prayer, “But I call to God, and the Lord saves me. Evening, morning, and noon I cry out in distress, and he hears my voice.”. Psalms is full of this, it just needs to be opened and reading it can certainly fill the void with hope and love; compassion and grace; truth and faith.

20111112-185944.jpg
Let us be thankful, and give thanks to our God. Let us be thankful for the empty space and start filling it with the love of God.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2011 4:03 pm

    Wonderful post Joy 🙂

    • November 13, 2011 4:10 pm

      Thank you, Mark.

      Sent from my iPhone

    • Jungle Jim permalink
      November 13, 2011 11:11 pm

      Elly-Mae’s out by the see-ment pond.

  2. Jungle Jim permalink
    November 13, 2011 8:49 pm

    I read a 3 vol. text on the Pslams by an 18th century Mick Jaeger English preacher. I think his name was Sperling. Like a rock & roll encyclopedia, a foot thick. When my 58 year old balerina sister talks to me about filling the void with a prospective romance, we always reduce it, somehow, to swapping spit. 🙂

    • November 13, 2011 8:58 pm

      You lost me with this comment, Jim. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Jungle Jim permalink
    November 13, 2011 10:52 pm

    That’s okay. God will not revolke your poetic license. Rocks, does not rock? Get your ya-Ya(s) out! Some of us got educated at parochial schools. We got the kind of education that would prepare us for any crisis that might arise, here in the 14th century. When Sperling was on top, you had to gather in pubic because nobody could afford books. He had to SPEAK, and loud enough for 10,000 Londoners to hear him. Fill the Void!

    • November 13, 2011 11:45 pm

      Oh phew…nothing to revoke here. Should b ok 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Jungle Jim permalink
    November 14, 2011 9:53 am

    The Psalms is prayers, it’s poetry, & it’s music. I think that scholar’s name may be Spergeon, rather than Sperling.

  5. November 14, 2011 5:10 pm

    Joy~Excellent post, and I am right there with you. He has always been considered my muse, but of late – as you say – life has become too busy and I have allowed it to do so. Now, during NaNoWriMo, the distance between Him and me is more noticeable than ever. In fact, so noticeable that I decided to make a chance. Thank you for the excerpt from the prayer book. I may need to add that to my wish list for my nookcolor….

    • November 14, 2011 5:24 pm

      Thank you for visiting, Nona! I think you will love the book, it is awesome.

  6. November 14, 2011 6:35 pm

    The timing of this post is so perfect for me. Thank you Joy

    • November 14, 2011 7:05 pm

      LiAbOk, I am so glad!

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. November 26, 2011 3:32 pm

    Nice post! You’re on the right road towards God again. He’ll be there for you, guaranteed!

Trackbacks

  1. Tattered Treasure « My Universe is Still Coming Together
  2. A New Day with Joy « My Universe is Still Coming Together

Leave a Reply

