Skip to content

Destiny Ain’t No Sweet Child ‘O Mine

November 8, 2011

20111103-223045.jpg

(Yea, imagine Axel Rose and Beyonce doing a duet together and there you have the title for this post.)

This photo quote here is courtesy of Linda Weber, I found it on a “friend’s” Facebook page:

20111020-180357.jpg

God’s plans for us are bigger than our dreams.

So where does that leave us with the whole destiny thing? How many plans does God have for us? Does He have a predetermined path for us? I think about it from time to time. I read a thought provoking post from a fantastic blogger named Brian at The Bleeding Ink Well. You can find his post here. Like Brian says, we have all thought about this destiny thing in our lives. He ponders three of the big ones in this post. His writing is honest and that makes it beautifully refreshing. He makes me think.

I think that’s a good thing. Thinking.

I was asked once by an old friend, “Do you think we missed out on our destiny?”.

Of course I answered right away, YES! Even though, in the back of my head, there was the nagging answer. NO. No was nagging me because it was the right answer and I wanted to ignore it. I wanted to believe that the reason I was unhappy was because I wasn’t fulfilling my destiny. Not because of *gasp* me and the choices I made. I wanted to think that the reason I was unhappy was because I missed out on my destiny. I knew deep down in the dark depths of my heart, that was not the answer. It just had to make it’s way to the top.

The answer spoke to me eventually (thank you God), “Obviously the answer is no because this is my destiny, otherwise I wouldn’t be here.”. Here being this spot in my life. Here being what I just did with caring for my grandpa and my children. Here being writing and blogging. Here being the destiny I chose for myself with my free will. Here being with my husband, even though it was full of dysfunction, it was all part of me growing up. All that mayhem helped me become a better person, I wouldn’t be where I am now if it weren’t for the choices I made. That is the beauty of our God, he gives us the free will to choose our path and to fall from His grace and to rise up to His grace, again and again.

That’s what I am talking about with the falling apart and the coming together in my book. Coming to God’s grace and falling from it and then coming back again. My Universe Came Together While It Was Falling Apart.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 6:18 pm

    Beautiful post. I find myself wondering if this is where I’m meant to be, when things aren’t going quite my way. But – like you said – these experiences are bumps along the road to get us to where we are destined to be, and to who we will be when we get there. I cannot change things from my past, so instead I try to embrace the experiences that make me cringe when I think about them. If I didn’t do some stupid things, or enter into some relationships I shouldn’t have, I would have never learned the things that have made me grow and that have made me more aware of what sort of decisions will lead me further down the correct path.

    Love the title of your book, and it’s wonderful to hear someone else say they know these things happen for a reason. 🙂

    • November 8, 2011 6:37 pm

      Well said, Nichole!! Thank you 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Jungle Jim permalink
    November 8, 2011 10:28 pm

    “…let them go”? What’s plan B?

Leave a Reply

