Skip to content

The “G” Spot

November 4, 2011

20111102-113037.jpg

G as in God, man.

The infamous God spot.

It received some attention among scientists a few years ago. Well, over the last decade, I suppose.

Sheesh. I know that this is a totally inappropriate title but I just could not help myself. Hopefully you find it in your hearts to forgive me and if you can’t, well, perhaps you should read this: How Justifiable is Your Unforgiveness?

Interesting. NPR did a series on this two years ago entitled, Is This Your Brain on God?. That’s just punny – the word punny here being a nontypo – and nontypo being a made up word. Double sheesh. Ok, on to the G spot.

I was doing a little bit of research on Alzheimer’s Disease earlier this year after my Grandpa passed away. I wanted to learn about its effects on the brain when the temporal lobes are affected. That is where my Grandpa’s brain had been damaged, according to his one and only MRI. Since the disease is so vastly different from case to case, I did research on temporal lobe damage from Alzheimer’s Disease. This is where I have run across this God Spot stuff and i vaguely remember hearing about it from time to time, so I thought to myself: “What better way to process this idea than blog about it?”. So here it goes…

Could it be possible that faith is all in our head? Literally. Our brain apparently has this spot deep within the temporal lobe, in the limbic system. It lights up when folks ponder God, This lobe is located around the ears, like lobe earmuffs. This part of the brain controls smell, sound, and some vision and also memory and emotion. When this “spot” is stimulated in some form it gives us the feeling of divine intervention. Stimulation being a stroke or a tumor or electromagnetic fields that bong up the brain making humans feel the need to believe in a higher power. Stimulation also being wearing the “God Helmet”. Ooo, God helmet. I wanna try.

This guy, the scientist behind the term God spot, named Michael Persinger, he invented the God helmet. This helmet creates magnetic fields over the skull and stimulates the right temporal lobe. “What is the last illusion that we must overcome as a species?” he asks theatrically. “That illusion is that God is an absolute that exists independent of the human brain — that somehow we are in his or her care.”. Ouch, I’m sure that one torked off quite a few believers. God being an illusion that is all in our brain? I can’t really even imagine. What about the God spot in our heart, filling it’s chambers with a love so pure you fear it may melt. Are we even able to measure that, scientifically?

I guess that the bottom line with faith of any kind is that it should make us better people. It should make us feel peace and calm in our hearts. It is when man’s interpretation of our faith and our God becomes judgement that we all loose.

20111102-113353.jpg

I find The God Spot everywhere around me, everyday. I embrace it both in my brain and in my universe. I can’t imagine looking around our planet and our galaxy and thinking that this entire world isn’t the God Spot.

This life is the God Spot.

20111102-202232.jpg

Because God is all around us, we just need to open our earmuffs.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jungle Jim permalink
    November 4, 2011 11:30 am

    Conjecture is constructing all sorts of lurid senarios out of insufficient evidence. Miricles are a fact. Is “absolute” a question or an answer? Not everyone has the same creation myth.

    • November 4, 2011 12:50 pm

      Miracles are all around us, Jungle Jim! Absolutely.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. November 4, 2011 6:05 pm

    The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.” Psalm 14:1
    Great post, Joy. It takes more faith to believe God is a figment of human imagination (or brainwork) than to look around and accept He is and He is involved in our lives.

    • November 4, 2011 8:55 pm

      So true, Aimee! Thanks.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Jungle Jim permalink
        November 6, 2011 12:00 am

        Amiee, I don’t know how much faith it takes. In the fourth and final verse of the Battle Hymn of the Republic, it says, the “fatefull” lightning, not the faithfull. The fool says, “Do unto others, then split.

    • Jungle Jim permalink
      November 5, 2011 11:48 pm

      Aimee, I don’t know how much faith it takes. Faith and acceptance are what the Battle Hymm of the Republic is about. In the fourth & final verse it mentions the “fatefull” lightning, not the faithfull. The fool says, “Do unto others, then split.”

Trackbacks

  1. Our Little Field of Dreams « My Universe is Still Coming Together

Leave a Reply

