Skip to content

Friendship: Until Death Do Us Part

October 26, 2011

20111026-182937.jpg

I have that friend in my life, the one I feel is more like a sister. A sistah from anotha mutha. She’s kidney donation material. I love her like family.

I am postponing my post that was intended for today for this message from your EBS (Emergency Best-ie Services).

So I’m going on an emergency flight to Dallas. Right now. I’m on the plane to Texas as I type this with my thumb on my iPhone. Going to the big state in the south. Everything’s bigger n better in Texas! Even friendship. I have a fantastic husband and a fabulous mom helping with my kiddos at home in the midwest and I’m dropping everything to help my soul sister get out of her abyss. Her trenches. Maybe help her see some light at the end of her tunnel.

Some wouldn’t understand. Some may say I’m crazy to do this, they might feel it is an inconvenience and I need to just let her figure her crisis out on her own. Why, they may say, should I take up my time and money to travel halfway across the country to help a friend?

Here ya go, take it from Natalie Dee!

I love my best friend, that’s why. We’ve been thru 20 years of friendship and all of our ups. But especially our downs. This is a down. So, I’m there…until death do us part.

Do you have your kidney donor? I hope so because it feels so damn good to know someone has your back. This is what life is all about.

And this concludes my message from the EBS.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 7:43 am

    Dear Joy,

    You are tapped in to the mother lode of love. Good on you, girl. Most people never know what it’s like to have a friend like you. Their loss.

    Good luck in the big T.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • October 27, 2011 3:06 pm

      Thank you, Doug! The best part here is that my bestest has and will always do the same for me! I am the lucky one, too πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. October 27, 2011 12:53 pm

    I hope everything works out well with your friend. Welcome to our humble state πŸ™‚

    • October 27, 2011 3:03 pm

      Thank you πŸ˜‰

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. October 27, 2011 4:01 pm

    Joy of joys, my kidney donor bestie is in town from halfway ‘cross the country this week! — not for the sake of emergency (which I hope is being well resolved for your friend, who is fortunate to have a back-haver such as yourself), but just because my birthday’s a-comin’ and we figured that, after a year of internet/phone friendship, it was high time we got together face to face. Methinks this was one of our better ideas. Sistahs from other muthas for the absolute win. (:

    • October 27, 2011 4:39 pm

      Yay, DS!! That is awesome πŸ™‚ have a fabulous time and happy birthday!!

  4. October 27, 2011 10:50 pm

    Your friend is lucky to have you.

    • October 27, 2011 11:09 pm

      Thanks Edward. I’m lucky to have her.

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Aburahmamama permalink
    November 3, 2011 4:28 am

    warts and all…Yes, your Bestie is very BLESSED and LUCKY to have you in her life. Did you notice how close Bestie is to Beastie….from B-boys to B-girls. A kidney donor friendship is a BEAUTIFUL thing….Boosh!

Leave a Reply

