Skip to content

Freshly Inked

October 25, 2011

20111024-165804.jpg

20111024-170154.jpg

This is my new tattoo. I haven’t had one in almost 20 years and I love this one. The colored dots are each the shades of my birthstone, my husband’s, and our two children. Garnet, opal, emerald, and alexandrite – love is right on top of my foot!

I wanted a cross inside the heart to show God in our hearts and us shining on the outside as the color of our birthstones but the artist told me it wouldn’t look very good. The cross would be too small and over time it would look “mushy”. Then I wanted the heart facing me and he said no way, “cuz while it would look like a heart to you, it’ll look like a ball sac to everyone else.”. Okey dokey then, ha! So I have what you see here and I love it. So much.

I appreciate that the tattoo artist was honest with me and knows his trade well enough to know what looks crappy and what looks hot. He didn’t just take my money and do what I wanted – he took pride in his work. Most importantly, he didn’t let me walk out of his salon lookin like I had a ball sac on my foot. Thank you tattoo man. Thanks for that.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 11:28 am

    Dear Joy,

    You nailed it, both in your tattoo and your thanks to the artist. Good job to both of you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • October 25, 2011 11:44 am

      Thanks Doug! I really do love it but I have to be careful or I’m going to fall and/or run into stuff because I keep looking down at it 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Schmuckatelli permalink
    October 25, 2011 12:02 pm

    I had to Google “Balzac”. I couldn’t remeber if he was a utopian prosthelytiser or an atheist anarchist.

    • October 25, 2011 12:24 pm

      I think he lived in “Frumunda” with his cousin Gonadar and his wife Jewel. What a great family.

      Sent from my iPhone

    • October 25, 2011 12:25 pm

      Ha! Thanks Mayorman!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

