Skip to content

I’m Not Tired But I’m So Tired

October 22, 2011

Oh sleep, why must children fight you so hard? My wild ones will walk around the house like little monster zombie creatures rather than go in their rooms and try to sleep.

“You are tired, I can see it in your eyes”, I’ll tell the insane walking dead monster children and it usually elicits the same response.

“I’m not tired, just let me stay up! I swear I’m not tired. Waaaaaah. School is so haaaard. Baaahhhh. I’m not tiirrrred!”

We go back and forth with this, “I am your mother, I know you better than you know yourself. Tired. You are tired.”. The monsters reply the same, “You aren’t in my body. You don’t knooow my body cuz you are not in it! I’m not tired. Blaaaaah waaaaah.”.

Help. Cuteness overload down there.

20111020-141740.jpg

I try to reason with the insane unsleepers (that is not even a word but I’m using it anyway), I tell the unsleepers, “Don’t fight it, man, I’d love to sleep right now but I have work to do tonight. Payroll, folding laundry, dishes; dude (I call my kids dude sometimes) go to sleep or you can help me do chores!”. This is when it happened, the title for this post flew out of my nine year old boy’s mouth – “Mom, I’m not tired but I’m so tired! I can’t sleep but I can’t do chores either. I have to just watch the rest of this show.”. Ok, puhleeze!

So, my son is going to be a zombie for Halloween. I tell him that this is what he looks like before bedtime. A crazed zombie boy. Then I proceed to tell him that I’m telling all of his friends that he turns into this zombie boy every night. Not just Halloween night, but all year long.

I’m not tired but I’m so tired dark zombie boy.

20111020-170135.jpg

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 1:01 pm

    LOVE it! My daughter used to be a walking dead monster child too! Mothers of Bratzillas must unite!

    • October 22, 2011 1:25 pm

      Amen, Neeks! Unite commencing šŸ™‚

  2. Anita S permalink
    October 22, 2011 3:10 pm

    Yes, I remember the unsleepers very well. How determined they are! For some reason, they become unwakers when it’s time to get up for school.

    • October 22, 2011 3:39 pm

      Oh yea, that’s going to be fun too…I guess it’s kind of a trade off! Thanks for the comment Anita!

  3. October 22, 2011 5:05 pm

    I used to say. just lie there honey and pretend you are sleeping for a few minutes, just for me, i will be back in sec. Voila! snore! c

    • October 22, 2011 5:16 pm

      Ha, that works from time to time until the little ones begin the debate. šŸ™‚

  4. October 22, 2011 5:15 pm

    I have a couple insane unsleepers here. Will there ever be a night when I won’t have to deal with their sleep issues? I’m thinking when they’re married?!

    • October 22, 2011 5:21 pm

      Ha, yea then we’ll have to listen to their spouse bitch about our offspring’s sleep issues. šŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

