Skip to content

Pho-nanigans

October 16, 2011

I have been conducting a little test – to hide my addiction – actually it’s an excuse to eat my favorite soup in the world. Pho

I have gone to so many different restaurants to find the best and have finally found my Pho-vorite. Here is my first place:

20111014-142159.jpg

Then I had my close second and the reason this one lost out was, first, because the drive was long and across town. Second, was because the broth was a bit oily and so were the meatballs. The meat sliced in my favorite Pho pretty much kicks the meatballs in the balls. Finally, and most importantly, it does not taste quite as good. Here is second place:

20111014-142510.jpg
Amazing this soup lost, right? It looked better even as I sat in this restaurant; shiny and pretty and ready to eat. The wait staff was nicer and more attentive, decor was gorgeous. But buyer beware…

This is the trap I get stuck in frequently; basing my decision on looks. Being – gasp out loud – shallow. Ouch, that hurts. Which brings me to my Pho-velution — is this what I am doing with my book, my writing?

Surprise! No. I. Am. Not. I’m rockin my book again and it reads oh so good. I’ve sent it off to the big state in the south and my friend is passing it around to people I don’t even know. So, we will see what strangers think about my writing, my heart and soul, my bookie wookie.

Lesson for me today,

Don’t base your decisions on looks and don’t be – um – shallow. Er- cuz it is not a good idea. You may be missing out on something with more substance. Maybe. Except things that are really fabulous, like fancy little baubles. DOH!

Ha! Maybe you shouldn’t be listening to me, kinda Pho of it – or full of Pho. Anyhoo… This is the real reason for the win, shiny little baubles – or bubble tea –

20111016-085800.jpg
Bubble tea makes everything and everyone a winner.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 2:12 pm

    Dear Joy

    Sounds as though your novel has a lot of Pho-tential and I am sure the readers to the south will return it with Pho-sotive reviews.

    That was a Lov-pho-ly Pho-st.

    Yours, in the soup,

    Doug

    • October 16, 2011 2:45 pm

      Pho SHO, Doug! Ha πŸ™‚

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. October 19, 2011 8:06 pm

    You wrote it! The pho post. Pho cool πŸ™‚ You know I’m a fan.

Trackbacks

  1. Pho for Joy | everyday epistle

Leave a Reply

