Skip to content

An Unlikely Place to Edit

October 13, 2011

20111010-181545.jpg

This is where I have been known to bring my manuscript to make corrections while my kids play with friends. What is the most unusual place you’ve done it? The editing, I mean, sheesh.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 12:57 pm

    Dear Joy,

    Your post got me to thinking and I had to laugh because everyplace I’ve ever edited all seem usual to me. I’ve edited in a treehouse, a submarine, atop the summit of Mauna Kea, in a port-a-potty on a construction site (somehow appropriate given the state of my writing at times), in cars while someone else drove around the island and even at the beach on windless days. No place is off limits if I can squeeze in a page here and there. Some days I turn on the speech feature on my Mac and put on a set of earphones and just listen to pages being read back to me. Mistakes in the rhythm and cadence of the words in sentences jump out at me like discordant notes in a symphony. All it takes is re-reading the piece again and the spots in need of work are easy to find.

    Your central spot in the playground seems like an ideal place. Children whirling round like happy planets as you work, with you like the sun at the center of the their solar system, every now and then checking on the position of their orbits as you create new worlds and sculpt old ones.

    Unusual? Sure, but nice. Very nice indeed.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • October 13, 2011 1:18 pm

      Oh, thank you Doug. That gave me the goose pimples at the end, I loved it! I’m the same way, I need to read my words out loud to be sure they flow and are cohesive. I’m noticing that my writing is rubbing off on both children, they have taken up writing stories of their own.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. October 14, 2011 10:10 am

    Maybe not so unusual, but I tend to edit while hauling my kids around too. I find myself sitting in the bleachers in the gym editing while my daughter had basketball practice. The nicest place I’ve edited was by the pool on vacation! These are difficult places to work though, because people see you and of course want to chat about what you are writing!

    • October 14, 2011 10:38 am

      Yes Kathleen, I have done it by the pool. It was one of my favorite places to edit this summer! Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

