Skip to content

The Doors of My Memoir

October 4, 2011

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.
– Benjamin Franklin

Good ole Ben Franklin, I like this quote. I was roaming around the local bookstore and saw it on a box. I think this quote directly relates to the memoirist, because you have to first do something or have something done in your lifetime that is worth writing about. Then write something about that event that is worth reading.

I think that is what I have done with my memoir entitled, My Universe Came Together, While it Was Falling Apart. It is relevant, with the baby boomer generation aging and generation X and Y having children in their late 30s and 40s. There will be quite a few folks having to care for both ends of the age spectrum. Caring for their aging and demented parents and their growing little demented and beloved children. It is a lot to deal with and handle.

I am still recovering from the Intensity of caring for my family and my Grandpa. Writing about what occurred within myself and under the roof of our house is some serious therapy. Especially how it changed me, how my life was put into perspective. How my priorities are shifting. I am rearranging things I find to be of worth. Writing about my experience is helping but I’m finding that as I re-read what I have already written, I need to go deeper. I’ve only skimmed the surface. The book needs more, the reader will need more.

I’m working on letting the reader in, opening the doors of my heart and soul. My book is good, the theme is interesting, title rocks, but I’m having a hard time breaking down the walls. That is difficult. Opening the doors and letting the words flow from my heart onto paper.

β€œTo open your heart to someone means exposing the scars of the past.”
– wolfdyke
</

20111003-204155.jpg
See, my doors have been closed and padlocked and blocked off, but if I let everything out, I think fantastic and amazing things can happen with this memoir.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 3:44 pm

    Beautiful thoughts. =)

  2. October 4, 2011 5:00 pm

    Good writing calls for honesty and, for me, that’s one of the hardest things about being a writer! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve written something that’s a little startling, only to have my inner-censor come along and edit it. Keep pushing those locks out of the way and dig deep!

    • October 4, 2011 5:26 pm

      Thank you for your comment, Candid. It is hard, I think it’s this unconscious self defense mechanism. Protect self, if I don’t divulge too much of my heart…it won’t shatter. I’m breaking the door down, piece by piece. Peace to you πŸ˜‰

  3. October 5, 2011 12:57 pm

    Blogging has been so important in helping me tear down those walls. I remember the first time I posted something really personal (after my unexpected Valentine’s Day post about abuse, which I then thought would be an exception). I dreaded the aftermath, which ended up being silly. The “aftermath” was folks pouring out their hearts and experiences in a way that both felt healing and encouraged me to open up even more. Occasionally I have moments where I wonder, “Did I really just post that? Really?!” but I think of those as flashbacks to the Deb who didn’t know what she was missing out on.

    • October 9, 2011 4:42 am

      Exactly, Deb! I actually feel like writing is helping me grow up. Like I might get a grown up haircut soon and act my age. Ha! Seeing as how I’m almost 40, it’s about time πŸ™‚ yea but probably not on the haircut or the acting my age thing. That is overrated.

Leave a Reply

