Skip to content

Deep Thoughts with Pho

October 2, 2011

This blog post is inspired by The Everyday Epistle, check her out because her blog is wonderful. Anyhoo, this post reminds me of her because last week she saved her fortune from her cookie and so did I. Coincidence? I think not, because I am not a big believer in coincidence. I think things happen for a reason. My goal for saving the small piece of paper was to make a fortune cookie blog post but she beat me to the post, so to speak. Then, as I was giving The Epistle kudos for her brilliant post, in her comment section and explaining to her what my fortune read, she came up with an amazing title. You see, I have a Pho addiction. I go to the same Vietnamese restaurant about once a week and sit and write in my journal over a bowl of Pho. The Epistle said, “sounds like a great post title” –

Deep Thoughts with Pho

So, here is what my fortune cookie produced last Friday —

20111001-134059.jpg“All men should try to learn before they die what they are running to, and from, and why.”

Woah. Yes, Epistle, deep thoughts indeed and what an awesome title for a post. So, I used it, I’m not too proud to not use a great idea when it is offered up. Thank you.

Let me ponder this fortune. I think I need to break it down into two parts. First, what am I running to and why. I’m running to love. Constantly. Love and truth. Truth – I find that in my faith with God. Love – I find everyday from my family and friends. I find it in songs like, Amazing Grace I find both love and truth in hymns like this because my faith has “saved a wretch like me”.

Which brings me to what it is that I am running from, I’m running from being a wretch. Living in fear, fear that I am not good enough or smart enough or that I’m unworthy of great accomplishments. Fear that produces those base emotions – jealousy, anger, angst, guilt, etc. My faith helps me find the light in the darkness, to know that my sins are forgiven and there will be redemption for my soul when we experience heaven here on Earth. Amen and thank you, God.

Now, you wouldn’t believe me if I told you, but I could run like the wind blows. From that day on, if I was ever going somewhere, I was running!

Forest Gump
Running to the truth and the love and running from being a wretch. Just keep running. Run, Joy, run!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh permalink
    October 2, 2011 10:32 pm

    Hopefully with your inspiring Faith, you won’t have to run from the things you fear. I know that you are NOT a wretch. But, I also know how the Demons of living in fear work and I totally understand. So, you will win Joy…. don’t run…..you can walk fast if you want to…. but don’t run… And just so you know….. our Praise Band played Amazing Grace just this morning in our Church….. whoa….. šŸ™‚

    • October 2, 2011 11:39 pm

      Thank you, Mark. Cuz I suck at running šŸ˜‰ but isn’t God good!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. October 20, 2011 7:51 pm

    This is awesome, Joy! How did I miss it?! I saw the later one on Pho too. Only thing I can think looking at the date is that I missed a lot that week as I was rolling out news of our relo. My bad! Thanks for the link and for cluing me in!

Trackbacks

  1. Pho for Joy | everyday epistle

Leave a Reply

