Skip to content

Memoir Shenanigans

September 28, 2011

20110928-013502.jpg

Ok, so I am writing memoirs, I think that has been established in this here blog. I have pretty much stopped working on the paternity book, or book number two, and am focusing more on my first. The book on being sandwiched between Alzheimer’s and parenting and career and marriage. I have to polish it up and edit and rewrite and such, this is a difficult task. So, I’ve been reading books on memoir writing and deciding how to make mine better.

That’s right, I needed help and so I purchased two books to aid in my writing a -um- book. I might add here that they have been extremely profound in pointing me in the right direction.
Here are links to their blogs, these books are where I am finding inspiration to keep going with my memoir.

Paula Balzer’s blog, this woman is the author of “Writing and Selling Your Memoir”. I can honestly say here that after reading this book, I took her advise and started this blog. Not only to create a platform but also to write and to have a sense of writer community. Oh, I am so grateful for this – she will never know. I love my blog (or if I was more of a hipster, I would say, I *heart* my blog).

Marion Roach Smith’s blog, she is the author of, “The Memoir Project”. I love this lady’s voice – she is hilarious! This author has inspired me to get back into writing my memoir of my life when I had Alzheimer’s to contend with. Actually, I feel an amazing kinship to Marion. She has written her own memoir of the disease, back when doctors weren’t really even sure what the disease was – she called it her mother’s madness.

Ok, so now I take what I have learned so far from each of these women and incorporate it into my blog. Thank you ladies, for putting your knowledge out there for folks like moi (me, thats French, right?).

I am writing with intent and purpose and being hospitable, as Marion tells us to do, which is harder than it sounds.
I have established my “hook”, as Paula calls it, which will entice the reader to actually read my book. I have been telling the truth, cuz it happened in my life. Profound right, *sarcasm*. I have touched on universal themes: love, caring for family, marriage, parenting, and being insanely insane during it all. Then, most importantly, show some form of – da, da, da – transcendence. Woah. That is hardcore and may just need to wait for it’s own blog post. Something like: “Transcendence in the Transcendental Trenches”. Ha! I am working on that one and will be for the rest of my natural born life.

Then comes the editing, Marion asks you quite simply, “Can you stand to read your manuscript?”. If not then murder it:

20110928-012643.jpg
That is me murdering my draft, ha, just kidding. Then Paula goes on to say that most all first drafts of manuscripts are crappy. Sorry, no crap filled picture of my manuscript for y’all. However, I am reading it again and finding a ton of things I need to redo. So, here I go, into edit-land. Ta-ta for now.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh permalink
    September 28, 2011 7:58 pm

    Good luck Joy 🙂

  2. September 28, 2011 8:06 pm

    Thanks, man!

  3. September 29, 2011 2:03 am

    I am honored to be mentioned in this new blog! Thanks so much. Good luck, and keep at it. . . and email me if you have any questions. It’s wild – the world of memoir writing.

    • September 29, 2011 6:25 am

      Thank you, Paula! I will definitely give you a shout out when I have some questions. Wow! Paula just commented on my blog… *giggle*. Once again, thank you for the book!

  4. September 29, 2011 9:04 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Good luck writing your memoir. That’s a brave thing to do. And it sounds like something I’d like to read!

    • September 29, 2011 9:11 pm

      Thank you, Ariel! Have a great day.

Trackbacks

  1. Transidental Transcendence in the Trenches of Alzheimer’s Disease « My Universe is Still Coming Together

Leave a Reply

