Skip to content

Go Ahead, Make My Blog

September 25, 2011

20110925-011351.jpg

“The Clint Eastwood gleam” – My Grandpa had that look in his eyes that you see in this photo, even in his demented state. Like he might blurt out, at any given moment, “Go ahead, make my day!”. Clint Eastwood. My Grandpa even looked like him in this photo from Wikipedia.

This post today, it is dedicated to his intensity. That intensity that I can only hope to convey in this memoir. His lust for life that he had before his brain became too damaged to remember how brilliant he once was. He was so intelligent when he was young, before Alzheimer’s Disease ravaged his brain. Before the tangles and plaques that travel with the disease weaved their way in and out of the crevices of his brain, erasing his memories on their way in and on their way out. I hope that I can do him justice in my memoir and portray him as the brilliant man he once was but also as the demented man he became.

So, I’ve got some work to do – I need to edit. Write. Edit some more and then let someone other than my mom and my two best friends read it. But who? Who would I want to read my book? My soul on paper. This I need to figure out.

So, I’m back to my Ayn Rand quote because I’m feeling insecure just thinking of having someone else read my writing.

“The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.”
<ahref="Ayn Rand

Thank you, Ayn, this quote of yours has helped me many times over. Also, thanks to Mr. Eastwood for the B. A. make my day quote. Love them both. Oh, and – as always – thank you to my Grandpa for always being there for me in life. Even after he is gone, and especially now, it seems. Funny how that works, hu? Like weird funny, not ha-ha funny.

(if you didn’t notice, I’m working on being grateful – cuz life is, for all practical purposes, pretty darn good)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 2:16 am

    i’m sorry to hear about your grandfather, but what an amazing tribute to him. my godmother is going through this as well…it’s so heartbreaking to watch.

    • September 26, 2011 2:36 am

      Thank you, words. It was an honor to be able to help … He was easy as far as his personality was concerned. Never crabby, but what a cruel disease. Thanks for visiting.

  2. September 28, 2011 12:10 am

    love the Ayn Rand quote.
    heartbreaking story as wordsinbeeminor commented. intense time for you. hang in there…

  3. September 28, 2011 12:34 am

    Yes I love that quote! It was intense but it was also the best time of my life, he was 92 when he passed away here @ home. I was holding his hand with my mom and aunt when he went to be with the Lord. It was intensely and beautifully hardcore. 🙂
    Thanks for the comment!!

Leave a Reply

