Skip to content

Me Love You Long Blog

September 22, 2011

“Aha me so bloggie. Uh-hu me so bloggie. Me love you long blog.”
– Sadly, I came up with that just now

But seriously, I love my blog. I love to blog, it’s fun. Even more, I love to read random blogs, they give me insight and inspiration.

Hence, the reason that I’m feeling so bloggie – and um – lovin me some blog!

So, that brings me to where I found my most recent inspiration. At the park, down by the creek. That’s right, down by the creek, not the river, not in the van, but at the park and down in the creek.

20110922-060445.jpg

This blog post of mine today is starting to remind me a bit of one of my favorite blog posts lately from one of my favorite bloggers at: everyday epistle
Check her out, hollah!

See, in that photo up there, the boy waiving at us? That’s my son and he was terrified but trying to be brave as he made the descent down into the creek to join his new friend. We have watched this boy, my son’s new buddy, countless times as he would come to the park and not play with the other children. No, he comes to catch fish down in the creek right by this park. Yesterday was the day that my son found the courage within himself to join this kid by the scooter down by the creek. *In my best Chris Farley voice from Saturday Night Live “Down By the River”*

20110922-083003.jpg

He had to scale down a rather steep slope using a tree branch and once down there, he had to jump from sandbar to sandbar in order to make the above destination. Once he was there, the apprehension was still visible on his face, but then there was another emotion revealing itself. Pride. he finally made it, he had the courage to climb down into the trenches and he was proud of himself.

This is what I learned from my son yesterday, “Each time we face our fear, we gain strength, courage, and confidence in the doing”. I wrote last night in my memoir and stopped beating myself up that I was blocked. I Let go of my fears and just wrote again. If I don’t like it today, then I will change what was written. But as long as I’m down in the office, at the computer and doing what I love, I should be proud. Right?

So, I’m gonna put my big girl pants on and do my best to overcome my fears and be proud of myself when I take baby steps toward any of my writing goals.

At least I’m not “Living in a van, down by the river…la-dee-freaking-da!”

20110922-094435.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 10:00 pm

    Okay, RA. Love this blog. Think we too may be related. The referenced Chris Farley SNL episode is frequently quoted in my home… Yes, tis true. If all else goes to pot, at least we’re not living in a van down by the river.

    Thanks for the call out to everyday epistle. Will be following you, soul sista.

    • September 22, 2011 10:03 pm

      I meant *RO* for Renaissance Oils, not RA, unless you would like the job as Residence Assistant on my hall… Sorry for the typo. My editor quit last week. 🙂

      • September 22, 2011 10:25 pm

        Ha! At least it wasn’t BO…then I’d really have a complex. BO being body odor.

    • September 22, 2011 10:22 pm

      Thank you, Aimee! I love that Farley character, oh man, I seriously giggle like crazy. Ha! Glad you signed on, thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

