Skip to content

Writing the Memoir

September 20, 2011

20110920-125117.jpg

“The truth must dazzle gradually
Or every man be blind.”
– Emily Dickinson

It’s true, the truth must dazzle. Writing the truth is hard, you’d think it should be a cake walk, writing about something that happened In your life. Seriously, you don’t have to make up the characters or the setting. No, the people are already there, no imagination needed in the memoir. Right? The people in your life have their own little quirks with their own fabulous personalities and the setting is there with all it’s glory. The hard part is trying to move the reader. Make it memorable. The memorable memoir.

Maybe that’s what I’ll call it –
The Memorable Memoir of My Memory
Or maybe this –
The Memorable Memoir of Alzheimer’s from My Memory (if only I could reMember how to write)

I’m not so sure here, my experience moves me, will it move the reader? Am I conveying what is in my heart very well? Or will the reader – or every man, as Emily said – be blind. I want what is in my heart to dazzle the pages of my memoir. Because what is inside there is bursting out of my chest cavity. Aaaaarrrrgggggg.

I hope so.

Happiness slide, take me away…

20110920-010237.jpg
For those of you who have no clue about the slide, see my post on happiness. The explanation is there. Now back to the screen. Ahhhhhh. It’s empty and the 60 minutes I set aside for writing today are almost up. Get to writing, woman!

20110920-011002.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 3:58 pm

    Ah yes, how do we dazzle. When I first started writing my memoir, my son who is also a writer gave me some advice. “You’re not famous, and you don’t have an unusual story like Anne Frank, so you have to tell your story with such depth of feeling that people will relate and want to read it.” The trick, though, is spilling your guts all over the page without grossing everyone out and chasing them back to the TV! But we do what we do because, like you said, “what is inside there is bursting out of my chest cavity.” Well said.
    Blessings,
    Linda

    • January 11, 2012 5:44 pm

      Your son is spot on, Linda! Thanks for reading!!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

