Skip to content

Blocked

September 19, 2011

20110919-033510.jpg

Oh my, no, not like that guy.

I am officially blocked, in regard to writing in my memoir. Blogging though, I could do this all day long, you poor souls out there that would be subjected to my nonsense. I would feel bad for you, anyhoo, back to me and my obstruction. I don’t know what is going on with my juices, creative flow is halted. I feel like this guy –

20110919-031915.jpg
Balloon sword through my head making it impossible to concentrate.

My time is limited, with working and children and husband and life, and all. I just have no time to write in the memoirs, the books I want to become real books some day. Then, when I do have some time to write, I find myself blogging because it is easier and more convenient. Just whip out the handy dandy iPhone and voila – hello blogosphere!

Any ideas? How does one overcome the age old problem of writers block? Or is my blog zapping my writing energy? I need some writer community, some feedback. I’ll just keep talking about it until it actually happens, I need to join a group. Or take a class.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 3Sixty5 of Annoying Happiness permalink
    September 20, 2011 1:23 am

    Just found you on a random search of “Pursuits of Happiness”. I bow to you and the two memoirs you are working on and I really do hope you find it in you to break through the terrible blocks as these memoirs have captured my attention just by their titles alone.

    I, too, am on the verge of being quadruple-sandwiched between layers of a newlywed marriage, the brink of motherhood, Alzheimer’s Disease (my mama) and a career if not career change. Gah! It would be so wonderful to read about someone else’s plight and victory through it all.

    New to WordPress so I do hope to read more of your accounts.

    *hands you a sledgehammer to break through the blocks*

    • September 20, 2011 1:37 am

      Hi 365! Oh boy, I am so glad you found my blog and how amazing that you are about to step into the shoes I wore for so long. Being a caregiver for Alzheimers is a trip! See, this is why I started writing it, I think there will be a lot of us. Thank you for the inspiration, how cool!

  2. September 20, 2011 8:27 am

    blockage has only one way through: through. Keep writing. Write nonsense, write anything. The rest will take care of itself. At least that’s my experience. Thanks for posting on my blog. It can be lonely sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

    • September 20, 2011 10:49 am

      Thank you, the point. I’m working through it, I just have to try and dispurse the energy a bit. Find it for my books as well as my blog and all that other stuff in life. You know, that thing they call family. Ha! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. September 21, 2011 9:41 pm

    In the midst of an ongoing pity-party big block that was making me so miserable that I decided to read my favorite author instead of wallowing and enjoy writing my blog (which is a lot less pressure). Things are better, I think about what I want to write more instead of moaning about not writing. You’ve got a great blog, I found it by your visit to mine.
    Good luck and keep writing, it will come.

    • September 21, 2011 9:55 pm

      Thank you lizybee, I feel it coming back. I’ve been really enjoying the blogging, I find inspiration constantly. I just need to stop calling the waaahmbulance. Ha!

Leave a Reply

