Skip to content

The Secret to Happiness

September 18, 2011

20110918-013903.jpg

20110918-123240.jpg

We have these cards in a basket on our kitchen table, they are called “Table Topics”. The one I pulled out of the basket this morning, as my kids were eating the donuts their dad picked up, was about happiness and the secret to obtaining it. My mind started reeling as I thought of all of the really profound wisdom I could impart to my beloved children. Oh sweet possibilities, and it was even a Sunday morning, this could be a perfect conversation before we went to church. In my mind I was going to talk about love and God and our faith in His wisdom, and then I would touch on the light that shines in us that is His and it was going to be such a picture of family. Picturesque perfection, and it was about to take place under my roof. Goody goody gumdrops!

Who was I kidding? Picturesque does not take place in my house.

Then my son rolled his eyes and said, “Not now mom! I have to check my fantasy football before I shower. No time.”. Well, fine. That left me with my 5 year old girl, she is in kindergarten now and thinks she has wisdom well beyond her years. This is what she informed me this morning and it is simply too hilarious not to share. She tells me, in all seriousness, “I know what it is mom (it being the secret to happiness). If there was a door and then there was monkey bars right inside it and then you went over to the slide and you drop and slide down and the slide takes you anywhere you want. That is the secret.”. The chuckle coming from downstairs was that of my son, he was listening. Yes funny, but how can you top that? I reserved my answer with all its glory for another time, my daughter got the spotlight for this question. Hands down, now we are just looking for our door – that door to happiness with the monkey bars and the slide. And do you know where the happiness slide is gonna take her? To the zoo! Ha, love this girl. L.O.V.E. Period.

20110918-014235.jpg
Here it is, drawn in my lovely journal that, as you know from a previous post, I am no longer so neurotic about. I have amazing drawings of secret rainbow slides behind brown doors that will take you to the best place on Earth. The zoo.

Where would your secret happiness slide behind the brown door take you?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 1:04 am

    This is great! I’m pretty sure it would take me to the Cadbury factory in England.

    • September 19, 2011 1:13 am

      Oh yes, creamy goodness. I love Easter time just for those eggs, well, and Jesus and all that resurrection stuff. 🙂

  2. October 12, 2011 12:59 pm

    Adorable! I can think of several places a slide might be a great idea.

    • October 12, 2011 1:01 pm

      Yes, just about every room in my house and then at my desk, that slide would provide some fantastic escape.

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks

  1. Digging the Joy « My Universe is Still Coming Together

Leave a Reply

