Skip to content

My Mantra

September 4, 2011

I have a new mantra this year. It helps me when I’m being a control freak or when my anxiety starts climbing to dangerous levels. I have to be very mindful these days not to try and “fix” problems for everyone around me, sounds pretentious, I know.

“live in the moment, unattached to the outcome”
– this is from author Laura Munson, she wrote it in her memoir – “This Is Not the Story You Think It Is: A Season of Unlikley Happiness”

I loved her memoir and I have adopted this mantra from her story, I apply it to my life in many situations. I say it to myself often. It helps me keep in mind that there are problems that are simply not mine to fix and that I cannot control or get anxious about outcomes. Be present in the now, not present in what I think should be happening now. Phew.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2011 2:58 pm

    I would have thought fixing problems is a skill to be appreciated.

  2. September 5, 2011 8:33 pm

    I don’t think it’s healthy to be the “fixer” of everyone. Most days it’s hard enough managing myself. Hey, maybe that’s the title of my next post. Thank you!

  3. September 6, 2011 12:42 am

    I like the idea of “live in the moment, unattached to the outcome,” but also think this is a dangerous way to live.

    • September 6, 2011 1:24 am

      I agree with you on the dangerous aspect, but when life keeps coming and coming, sometimes it is all you can do to survive. I don’t live unattached to people, just the outcome that I can’t control. Thank you.

  4. September 6, 2011 1:29 am

    I understand completely about not being able to control the outcome, but personally, if I don’t think about the possible outcome I’m likely to do stupid things. But that’s just me.

  5. September 6, 2011 2:06 am

    Yes I can see that could happen. For me, it helps quiet all the static in my life. I do my best and do the right thing – or what I hope is the right thing. Then I wait to see how it goes. If it goest way, then I’m glad. But if it doesn’t, then I’m not totally crushed. It’s those times I have a hard time bouncing back from.

Leave a Reply

