Skip to content

What if the Hokey Pokey is What it’s All About?

September 3, 2011

I was at a stoplight this morning, on my way to help a client get her – yes her – toupee un-taped from her head and there it was right in front of my car. The words of wisdom today were plastered to the back of a beat up turquoise mini van. Maybe it was more like words of inspiration – for this blog post. It was a bumper sticker asking the all important question, “Is the hokey pokey really what it’s all about?”. The obese woman in the drivers seat, and I only know the obese part because of the size of her head – and I’m not judging her size, get on with your obese self – she was hanging her cigarette out the window. Pulling her arm in for a few drags, the smoke was billowing out and then it happened, the the arm was out. Put your smoke in and put your smoke out, that’s what it’s all about. I wonder what her memoir would contain. I do that now, ponder to myself what others would write about if they could choose a theme from their life, ass-uming they would want the daunting task of writing about something from their life.

Put your arm in put your arm out and smoke it all about, you do the hokey pokey and you blow it all out. That’s what it’s all about. I like this joke, it’s punny. Play on words funny, a pun. Punny. Is it, for her, what it’s all about? That would be the title of her memoir, the hokey pokey thing and thats what its all about and perhaps she would have something really inspiring for us, the reader. Then there is the chance that it would be very uninspiring, and that would be what it was all about. The freaking hokey pokey. Period.

For me, what is it all about? Um – loaded question, with a question like this you run the risk of sounding too cliche. I could say, faith and family and friends, but I’m not going to – be cliche that is – because i will say those things. I am going to say it my way, cuz that’s how I roll, off the beaten path. She asks if it’s all about the hokey pokey, no man, I say it’s all about red rover. Touché. Yea, “Red rover, red rover – bring life on over.”. Then you stand there, waiting for whatever it is life has in store for you, sometimes you are blindsided, other times you can see it coming. It motors across the field like a freight train, intentions are to break you down and run you over. Some days you face this alone, hopefully other days you have your arms locked with your loved ones. Arms locked, not in. Not out, but locked together. Your family and friends and faith, standing with you, as one united force of love. Unbreakable. Somebody stop me!

What is it all about for you? With your left leg in and your left leg out, while you are turning all about, what’s it all about?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

